5 Latin Names for Gluten

Nov 07 2015

5 Latin Names for Gluten

Gluten is a very tricky protein. Sure, if you look at a label and see wheat, barley or rye, you’re going to assume that product is something you can’t eat, if you’re living a gluten-free lifestyle. But sometimes gluten doesn’t tell you that it’s gluten. Instead, it goes by other names so you won’t know what you’re eating ? or wearing – until after you’ve had a reaction to it. In fact, every once in awhile, it’ll switch languages on you just to make things even more confusing! It’s a good thing that we’re able to “translate” some of this information. For example, here are five Latin names for gluten.

1. Triticum Vulgare
This common wheat ? or wheat germ oil ? is often found in skin care products due to its high content of Vitamin E. If you’re gluten sensitive, however, you may end up breaking out instead. Look for this ingredient in massage oils and if your skin becomes more angry than relaxed, it’s time to switch to a gluten-free cream instead.

2. Triticale
This wheat/rye blend has only recently become a commercial crop. It was primarily grown for animal forage, but don’t be surprised if you see it in the list of ingredients on your cereal box now as well. Also, if you eat a sandwich from Subway made from their 9-Grain Wheat (and you shouldn’t if you’re already avoiding wheat), you’re definitely coming into contact with this blend.

3. Hordeum Vulgare
This complicated name is really just a disguise for barley, which is a huge cereal grain. Look for this name, along with the following terms: Extract, Flour, Juice, Leaf Juice, Powder, Root Extract and Seed Extract. Malt, the most common of the barley culprits, is often used in beer. Be leery, though, for hydration facial creams that “restore youthful vitality” since some of them have been known to “include this root extract” also.

4. Triticum Spelta
You may have guessed that this ingredient is simply spelt wheat. Sold as flour or whole berries, spelt wheat was one of the first known grains used to make bread. Nowadays, you can find it in biscuits and crackers, too. It’s been documented that some people who can’t tolerate gluten can handle eating spelt. One possible reason is because the gluten protein in spelt breaks down faster during processing. Until you, or your doctor, make the decision that your gluten-free diet will make room for spelt, you should look at it as wheat.

5. Secale Cereale
This grass that is produced as a grain is usually referred to as rye. You can find it in whiskeys, vodkas, beer and in non-alcoholic foods a well. It tends to have lower gluten content than wheat, yet those with Celiac Disease are instructed not to consume it. This specific ingredient can also be found in cosmetics, usually in the form of Seed Extract or Seed Flour. Even if a company states their skin care products don’t contain wheat, that doesn’t mean they’ve sworn off rye.